1.2 High Maintenance

03-21-17_10-22-39 PM

Welcome back to the Mythos legacy! We ended the last chapter with Gaea hopefully pursuing her flighty spouse-of-choice, Bennett, so I figure it’s only right that we pick up again with her doing the exact same thing. Another meeting, another bar, except this time she’s beating him at Foosball.

03-21-17_10-22-56 PM

Bennett: #$@%

He is not exactly thrilled. But he is also unemployed and happy to meet Gaea during the times she isn’t working away in the Writer career, or desperately trying to keep her needs from plummeting. Even when Gaea invited him to a bar at 11 am on a Tuesday. Which I feel like is a kind of test for a Legacy spouse potential.

Bennett and his leather pants are growing on me. He’s a little fussy but he makes hilarious faces and he’s fond of Gaea despite his better judgment.

03-21-17_10-23-25 PM

And he keeps tossing her adorable expressions like this one. Awwwwww.

Building that friendship bar so that Gaea can finally snag him for real.

03-21-17_11-08-17 PM

After Gaea trashed him at Foosball, they went to the estate in Windenburg and took some adorable selfies. The garden there is fully stocked, and nothing was ready to harvest but I’m going to have to send Gaea back here when her skill is high enough to graft plants together.

They explored some of the grounds together and goofed around, and then Bennett decided to reject more flirting despite being in a great mood. Bennett, you little *@^#. I sent Gaea home after that because she was embarrassed and didn’t really want to interact with anyone else. Don’t worry, sweetie, we’ll get him one of these days.

Gaea had a little promotion cash and no way to skill on her own lot, so I bought her a computer and a desk to help with the writing. Prompting Gaea to finally realize the kind of hardship that goes along with being a founder.

03-25-17_1-43-31 PM

Gaea: …This might be why Bennett doesn’t want to get involved with me. Where are my walls? How long is this going to take?

Shh, sweetie, it’s all gonna go great. Just go get some skilling done and we’ll try again some other day. Maybe we’ll take your high-maintenance boyfriend somewhere nicer, impress him a bit.

Later:

03-25-17_1-53-46 PM

Gaea: This is nice, right? There are walls and light fixtures and everything.

I feel like her standards are terrible and I blame myself for letting her live on the lawn.

Because it’s the kind of luck Gaea has, it’s apparently Fancy Pants night at the bar and no one seems that impressed with her. Not even the sweater-wearing yuppie stranger jogging by.

03-25-17_1-54-28 PM

That’s just…a lot of stink eye going on at once.

And all of it is directed at our lovable hippie disaster of a founder, who is having a moment with her Goofball trait.

03-25-17_1-54-41 PM

Gaea: Look at me, I’m sweater guy! ‘Pardon me, good sir, did you see the way to the libations? I came to partake in a good time, verily!’

Bennett: I need a drink.

Whatever, Bennett, I see those doe eyes you’re throwing Gaea when she’s not being a huge dork.

03-25-17_1-55-33 PM

Bennett: I don’t know what you’re talking about (but she is really cute).

03-25-17_1-55-05 PM

Gaea: Tee hee.

03-25-17_2-06-09 PM

Bennett eventually came back to Gaea’s lot and got the grand tour: he saw the bed, the refrigerator, the toilet and shower, and the computer. He stuck around, but did not look like he was having a good time.

Bennett: I can’t believe she’d leave a bowl just sitting over here on the desk for hours. It’s so disgusting and distracting. I can’t even concentrate on my emails. I…I have to go.

Bennett left and Gaea spent the next few days trying to get a little extra cash and get some promotions under her belt. She made Advice Columnist and spent some time in the garden with her amazing, gravity-defying hair.

03-25-17_2-52-20 PM

She doesn’t have many types of plants yet, but the ones she has are doing pretty well and starting to bring in a little more cash. I really need to spend some time in other neighborhoods to get her some variety, but right now it’s hard enough trying to keep her rested and not walking around in a stink cloud.

03-25-17_2-16-53 PM

Gaea was invited to join the Good Timers club and I let her, just to help her get out of her house lot more often. Here she is, trashing more people at Foosball even though she’s outnumbered.

03-25-17_2-19-41 PM

And here she is getting the stink eye from someone dressed better than she is…again.

Bella Goth: She’s certainly…earthy.

Gaea: You should see me when I’m not dressed for work. I’m much less stuffy.

Bella:…I see.

I was exploring Gaea’s lot later when I saw this tunnel opening that apparently leads to the Bluffs! I had her invite Bennett over to explore it, despite the fact that she was nearly exhausted.

03-25-17_3-02-13 PM

Gaea: Who has two thumbs, just started a fire, and is nearly delirious? -points to self- This girl.

Bennett: Well, well, well, look who finally made some effort at romance!

Bennett was newly impressed with Gaea, who was mostly wandering around looking for a place to nap, but who apparently was actually making the right impressions.

03-25-17_3-04-11 PM

Look at that fancy backflip into the water. 8/10 from the Russian judge.

03-25-17_3-04-52 PM

Go get him, Gaea!

Gaea: I just want to sleep.

I made Gaea get into the water to wake her up and then had her use her charm while Bennett was in a good mood.

03-25-17_3-13-27 PM

Gaea: Hey, sailor.

Bennett: Despite the fact that you fell asleep on a bench a few minutes ago, this is charming. I just wanted to see some real effort.

Gaea: So this is working? I’m so tired–I mean, I’m so glad!

Kiss spam! Bennett still managed to look surprised, despite Gaea chasing him down and flirting with him at every opportunity for about a week.

But what really matters is that he agreed to go out with her afterwards. Gotta capitalize on those first-kiss vibes.

03-25-17_3-16-19 PM

Gaea stumbled home afterwards.

Gaea: *mumble* Boyfriend… *mumble* naptime…

03-25-17_3-18-08 PM

Gaea caught a quick forty winks while Bennett decided to be the worst Neat Sim I’ve ever seen. This is him playing in a pile of trash.

At least he’s entertained and sticking around, I guess.

03-25-17_3-24-13 PM

Gaea woke up with just enough energy to call Bennett away from his pile of trash.

Gaea: This double bed just appeared a few minutes ago! You know what that means, right?

Bennett: This is the best time I’ve ever had outdoors.

The next morning:

03-25-17_3-27-03 PM

Confetti!! The beginnings of Generation 2 are here.

Gaea immediately woke up Bennett to tell him the news.

03-25-17_3-28-12 PM

Bennett: This is great news! We’re going to have a baby! Here…in the middle of the lawn…with five pieces of furniture.

Hey! She’s up to like eight pieces now. We even have a counter. Moving up in the world.

Bennett: I have to go stress about this for a few hours. Excuse me.

03-25-17_3-36-11 PM (2)

Gaea is completely unbothered and goes right back to working on her collection of short stories, in between staring lovingly at this frog she found near her lot. Seriously, she adores this frog. She stops what she’s doing to look at it every few seconds.

Gaea: This frog understands me.

03-25-17_3-58-45 PM

Being pregnant does have its downsides, like decreased bladder control.

Bennett came back from his stress breakdown that morning and agreed to move in with Gaea to help her fail a little less and maybe afford a real room. He’s unemployed but somehow still had $20,000 to bring it, and it killed me a little to delete all that and send them all back into the land of Broke.

03-25-17_4-05-01 PM

This is him, obsessively mopping up the water in Gaea’s garden and having a grand old time with it. Poor, poor Bennett, all he wants is some order and he’s not likely to get it for a while.

03-25-17_4-12-46 PM

Gaea was getting bigger and bigger, but she still mustered the energy to go to a Dance Party on the Bluffs. It would make for an adorable romantic shot, if it wasn’t for Hammer Pants getting his groove on right next to them and the plumb-bombs.

03-25-17_4-13-54 PM

Bennett: Gaea Mythos, we’re at a mid-morning rave on the beach, you live outside, and you’re already pregnant with my child. Somehow, I am not going insane, so let’s not mess with a good thing. Will you marry me? Plumb bombs, photo-ruining strangers, and all?

Gaea: -squeals-

03-25-17_4-14-18 PM

DJ Princess: Nice rock.

Gaea: I know, right?? He did good. Although this had better be free trade certified, sweetie.

03-25-17_4-32-50 PM

This photo is evidence of domestic fluff and also of Bennett’s hilarious short-shorts that make me laugh every time I see them. Nice gams, Bennett.

03-25-17_6-38-21 PM

They could finally afford a few walls and a door, even though that’s basically all there is so far. Hopefully the money will start rolling in faster now that Bennett has a job in the Tech field. He’s already programming in this photo because there’s no time to waste when you’re about to be sharing a single room with whatever screaming baby is about to pop out of your fiance.

03-25-17_6-56-31 PM

When they’re not both gazing lovingly at the frog, Bennett has overcome his hard-to-get days and ends up spontaneously serenading Gaea a lot.

Gaea finally got the hint and suggested that they elope right there, in their unpainted house, in their pajamas. Like a proper legacy family; they know how it’s done.

Please officially welcome the Generation One Spouse, Bennett Ratliff! He’s Hot-Headed, Neat, Outgoing, and Business Savvy. He wants to be Fabulously Wealthy (HAHAHAHA, sorry, that’s going to be a tall order for a founding generation.)

03-25-17_7-07-05 PM

And they got married just in time, too, because a few hours later Gaea noticed that something was wrong.

Gaea: I think that salad I ate was bad or something. Organic only, from here on out.

03-25-17_7-07-18 PM

Gaea: #$%$, it’s not the salad. BENNETT!!!

03-25-17_7-08-08 PM

Bennett: Oh my god everything is terrible and filthy and I can’t even take out the trash what do I do????

03-25-17_7-19-57 PM

After much huffing and puffing and a few panic attacks from both adults, the first baby of Generation Two arrived! Green onesie means it’s a boy. Because I wanted some chance involved in the naming, and because there are too many choices when it comes to mythology, I decided to just go with a theme each generation, stick names into a randomizer, and pick the first one that’s gender-appropriate. I’m going to do the Titans first, just because it makes my Type-A heart happy when I go in any sort of chronological order.

03-25-17_7-20-20 PM

This is Hyperion Mythos, who is loved by both parents despite looking like a haunted baby doll.

03-25-17_7-21-19 PM

His parents fed him, put him down, and went right back to flirting. The only logical thing to do, obviously.

03-26-17_12-02-55 AM

Another photo to prove that Hyperion is actually being looked after, when Gaea and Bennett aren’t making moony faces at each other or at their favorite frog.

I think this is where I’ll leave this chapter–more on amazing Mythos parenting skills next time!

Leave a comment